Silja Pohjolainen: short CV

  • 2002 Docent (Adjunct Prof.) in Astronomy, University of Turku
  • 1996 Dr.Phil. (Space Technology), Helsinki University of Technology, Finland. PhD Thesis on 'Energy release by solar flares: Observations at radio and X-ray wavelengths' Aalto-tietokanta
  • 1985 M.Pol.Sci., University of Helsinki, Finland. Masters Thesis on the 'Political non-alignment policy of the Republic of Ireland' (in Finnish), Helka-tietokanta
  • 1978 Matriculation examination, Perniön Lukio, Finland

    Working life

  • 2012- university lecturer/teacher in Astronomy and Physics, Turku, Finland
    .............. on leave of absence Sep-Dec 2013
    .............. on leave of absence Mar-May 2017
    .............. on leave of absence during Sep and Nov 2019
  • 2008-2011 teaching assistant/university lecturer in Astronomy, Turku, Finland (7 fixed-term contracts)
  • 2003-2008 teaching assistant in Astronomy, Turku, Finland (appointed to 5-year position)
  • 2001-2003 Research fellow at Tuorla Observatory, Finland (on fixed-term contracts)
  • 2000-2001 JSPS research fellow at Nobeyama Radio Observatory, NAOJ, Japan,
  • 1998-2000 Academy of Finland postdoctoral research fellow at Observatoire de Paris, Meudon, France
  • 1997-1998 Acting director of Metsähovi Radio Observatory, Finland
  • 1987-1997 Metsähovi Radio Research Station, Finland, observer and research scientist (29 fixed-term contracts)


  • See list of lecture courses


  • See list of recent publications

    Inspecting/supervising theses work and postdoctoral training

  • PhD thesis supervisor (2nd) for Nasrin Talebpour Sheshvan (Univ. of Turku, Space Physics, 2017-)
  • Reviewer and member of the jury for the PhD thesis of Carolina Salas Matamoros (Universite Paris Sciences et Lettres, Observatoire de Paris, France, 2016)
  • PhD thesis supervisor (2nd) for Firas Al-Hamadani (Univ. of Turku, Space Physics, 2015-2018)
  • Postdoc supervisor for Habeeb Allawi (Univ. of Turku, 2011-2013)
  • PhD thesis instructor for Mikko Väänänen (Univ. of Helsinki, 2004-2010)
  • PhD thesis supervisor for Niina Lehtinen (Univ. of Turku, 2003-2007)
  • M.Sc. (pro gradu) thesis supervisor for Jani Achren (Univ. of Turku, Astronomy, 2007)
  • Member of the jury for the PhD thesis of Fabrice Portier-Fozzani (Universite de Nice-Sophia Antipolis, LAS-CNRS, Marseille, France, 1999)
  • Inspector of the Lic.Phil. thesis of Alexander Riehokainen (University of Turku, 1999)


  • H2020 RadioNet (2017-2020)
  • FP7 RadioNet3 (2012-2015)

    Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Suomen radiotieteen kansalliskomitea, Finnish National Committee of URSI, representative of University of Turku, 2018-2020 and 2021-2023
  • International LOFAR Telescope Programme Committee, member 2015-2019
  • Community of European Solar Radio Astronomers (CESRA), Chair 2010-2016, Board member and Webmaster 2004-2010
  • European Solar Physics Division (ESPD) of EPS, Board member (co-opted) 2010-2016
  • International Astronomical Union (IAU), member
  • Finnish Astronomical Society, Executive Committee member 1989-1993, secretary 1990-1993, member
  • Board of Governors for the Metsahovi Radio Research Station, member 1989-1990

    Organizing conferences and schools

  • North-European Radio Astronomy School, Finland (SOC and LOC member), postponed in 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
  • CESRA Meeting, Orleans, France 2016 (SOC Co-Chair)
  • North-European Radio Astronomy School, Turku, Finland 2015 (SOC member)
  • CESRA Radio Summer School, Glasgow, Scotland, 2015 (SOC member)
  • CESRA Meeting, Prague, Czech Republic 2013 (SOC Co-Chair)
  • CESRA Meeting, La Roche en Ardenne, Belgium 2010 (SOC member, Working Group 1 Co-Chair)
  • CESRA Meeting, Ioannina, Greece 2007 (SOC member, Working Group 4 Co-Chair)
  • AGU Chapman Conference on Solar Energetic Plasmas and Particles, Turku, Finland, 2004 (LOC member)
  • CESRA Meeting, Espoo, Finland, 1998 (LOC Chair)
  • Nordic Research Course on Radio Astronomy Techniques, Espoo, Finland, 1989 (co-ordinator)
  • XXVII COSPAR Plenary Meeting, Espoo, Finland, 1988 (LOC member)
  • 1st Finnish Space Scientists' Meeting, Hyvinkaa, Finland, 1987 (co-ordinator)

    Referee/reviewer for

    Advances in Space Research; American Geophysical Union AGU Books; Astronomy and Astrophysics; Astrophysical Journal, Astrophysical Journal Letters; Astrophysics and Space Science, Central European Astrophysical Bulletin, Journal of Atmospheric and Solar-Terrestrial Physics; Journal of Geophysical Research, Solar Physics

    Back to Silja's Homepage